HomeTrending TopicAfghanistan Announces Squad for Upcoming T20I Series Against India.

Afghanistan Announces Squad for Upcoming T20I Series Against India.

Ahead of the IND vs AFG T20I series, the Afghanistan Cricket Board’s Selection Committee has unveiled a robust 19-member squad for the upcoming three-match encounter against India. Ibrahim Zadran, the experienced opening batter, will continue to lead the side, building on the momentum of their recent 2-1 series victory against the UAE in Sharjah.

The inclusion of regular T20I skipper Rashid Khan in the squad raises anticipation, although his participation in the games remains uncertain as he recovers from a recent back surgery. In Rashid’s potential absence, Ibrahim Zadran, who demonstrated strong leadership in the UAE series, will spearhead the team against the formidable Indian side.

Squad Reshuffle and Key Additions

Mujeeb Ur Rahman, absent in the previous T20I series against UAE, makes a comeback, fortifying Afghanistan’s spin department alongside Rashid Khan. Additionally, Ikram Alikhil, who was in the reserves against UAE, has been elevated to the main squad as the backup wicket-keeper batter, showcasing the team’s strategic depth.

Strengths and Strategies

The squad’s composition is a mix of experience and youth, with Azmatullah Omarzai, a standout performer in the 2023 World Cup, set to play a pivotal role as the prime all-rounder alongside Karim Janat and Mohammad Nabi. The formidable spin duo of Rashid Khan and Mujeeb Ur Rahman adds a potent weapon to Afghanistan’s arsenal, making their spin unit a force to be reckoned with.

Chairman’s Optimism and Series Outlook

Mirwais Ashraf, the Chairman of the Afghanistan Cricket Board, expressed his delight at embarking on their maiden tour to India for the three-match series. He emphasized that AfghanAtalan, far from being underdogs, has excelled in recent times, setting the stage for a highly competitive series against the top-ranked Indian side.

T20I Series Schedule

The much-anticipated T20I series is set to kick off on January 11 in Mohali, followed by the second match on January 14 in Indore and the final encounter on January 17 in Bengaluru. Cricket enthusiasts worldwide are eagerly awaiting this clash between two formidable sides.

Afghanistan Squad

Ibrahim Zadran (C), Rahmanullah Gurbaz (WK), Ikram Alikhil (WK), Hazratullah Zazai, Rahmat Shah, Najibullah Zadran, Mohammad Nabi, Karim Janat, Azmatullah Omarzai, Sharafuddin Ashraf, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Fareed Ahmad, Naveen Ul Haq, Noor Ahmad, Mohammad Saleem, Qais Ahmad, Gulbadin Naib, and Rashid Khan.

India vs Afghanistan T20I series schedule
1st T20I- January 11, 7.00 PM IST, Mohali2nd T20I- January 14, 7.00 PM IST, Indore3rd T20I- January 17, 7.00 PM IST, Bengaluru

Amit Kumar
Amit Kumarhttps://trendworldnews.com/
Founder of Trend World News and I am a professional blogger, web design and SEO analyst, blog content writer, and social media specialist. With a BCA degree, they bring technical expertise and a passion for creating captivating online experiences. Their skills in web design, SEO, and content writing drive organic traffic and engage readers. As a social media specialist, they enhance brand visibility and foster connections with audiences. Continuously learning and staying up-to-date, I delivers exceptional results in the ever-evolving digital landscape.


  1. I loved even more than you will get done right here. The picture is nice, and your writing is stylish, but you seem to be rushing through it, and I think you should give it again soon. I’ll probably do that again and again if you protect this walk.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here